Basic Fluid question(s)

At least, I assume these are basic questions. I’m rather new to the fluid system.

Anyway, hello everyone.
Let me jump straight to the point; I’m attempting to animate a spray of fluid, as though from a hose. However, my limited knowledge of the fluid system in general (coupled with my lack of understanding when it comes to tutorials on the subject) have brought me to a standstill.

I’ve already got the basics of fluid down, I think; set one object as the fluid, or as an “emitter” (I forget the exact term used in Blender), set a domain, and set obstacles, etc, then bake. And so far, that works fine.
However.
I’m not getting anywhere near the results I’m aiming for; when I set one object as an “emitter”, it does indeed create fluid, but it doesn’t seem to create much; more like a dripping faucet than a spraying hose. And I can’t seem to spot any buttons that allow me to set the rate at which the fluid is created.
The other issue is the obstacle I created; it’s a rounded shape, but for some reason, when the fluid hits it, it acts as though it’s hitting a square instead. I can only assume this is an error on my part, but I’ve no idea what I’m doing wrong (or not doing at all).

And lastly, for some strange reason, when I bake the fluid, it seems to start by jetting out a short distance to one side, then dripping down as normal. This seems to happen even when I set an object as the fluid itself, rather than using an emitter; I use a sphere as the fluid, but when I start the animation, it seems to think my sphere has an arm on it or something.

Like I said, I would assume these are silly newbie issues I’m having, and it’s most likely my errors rather than anything else that’s causing them. But I don’t understand enough to troubleshoot my own work, so I’m turning to here instead.

Any ideas/tips?

Geo - a.k.a. Jioruji Derako

P.S.: if need be, I can fetch some screenshots later if my wording is too vague.