Basic Model Template Scripts

I have been attempting to build model importer scripts for video games, and I have been successful in figuring out the model format for several games, including several Spyro the Dragon games. Since I don’t know much about python, I was wondering if there exists a generic script that will import a simple file I compile that consists of just an array of N-floating point triplets, followed by an array, of M-vertex connection triplets. No headers, no normals, Just that the variables N-float and M-vertex will have to be entered manually in the, .py file. I know enough about hex editors and “find replace and copy”, to get the models into the array format I just mentioned, but python seems unreachable to me despite me, reading python’s scripting documents (I have no programming lanuage experience). So if any one can help, that would be great.

Hi there!
So, you have a number “n”, followed by “[f f f]” then “m” followed by “[v v v]”. N, M and V being integers and F being floating points?
How do you have this information? in a file? Or in a “text document” or what?
If you have it in a file, I can make a script to quickly convert it…

If you have python variables, it would also be simple, if you could just provide the file (in wichever format). It would be quite like this:

import BPyAddMesh
import Blender

vertexes = 
[list-of-vertexes-here] # e.g.: vertexes=[[0, 0, 0],[1,1,1],[2,2,2],[3,3,3]]
faces = 
[list-of-faces-here] # e.g.: faces=[[0,1,2],[1,2,3],[2,3,0]]

BPyAddMesh.add_mesh_simple('Imported-Mesh', vertexes, [], faces) 

Regards,

• Sergio