Basic Platformer tutorial?

Hi - hope someone might help me with this.

I’m very experienced with Maya, and the adobe packages but am new to games engines. I’m a teacher and wanted to take a group through the building of a basic platformer game with BGE. ie A player which jumps, enemies, life counter, death effect, sounds, menu and so on - which they could then adapt using their own designs and artwork (more my area of expertise).

Does anyone know of a tutorial set which would cover this? I’m finding it very difficult to find much out there.

Thanks

As much as I’d like to recommend teaching Blender and BGE I have to say I’d prefer if people that teach BGE really knew how to use it already well. So they can answer questions and resolve many problems that must arise when taking a classroom full of people through it and using their own assets. There’s simply not a single tutorial series for BGE mastery. You can start with “my first this and that” tutorials and in general not many tutorials on YouTube are too advanced for the complete novice.

BGE makes building game interaction easy but it’s important that people know that game development is much more than putting assets together. I feel like I want to stress that someone teaching BGE should also know about game design and development in general.

That being said I hope you take your time with BGE first and only then figure how to possibly include in your education plans.

Thanks Fenice - I’m looking into those links now

Kheetor - I’m talking about a kid’s after school club to try to spark their interest in game design & 3d animation generally. It’s a shame you can’t be more positive about that.

Kheetor is absolutely right though.
You and your students are going to run into many problems, and if you aren’t able to resolve them, it’s not going to look good.
But for the most part, what you’re asking are all quite common questions, so no doubt you’d be able to find tutorials on this stuff on Youtube.