Basic Question

First off, I am an extreme newbie with this stuff and and I have to admit reading through the posts, FAQ’s and artwork it’s all very overwhelming, intimidating and beautiful. Such talent here it boggles the brain.

I do have a question about something I have always wanted my computer to do. I am a wood carver and the patterns for cutting a blank consist of a top view and a side view. I have been using Corel Draw for years to modify the patterns to make them more lifelike however, I always wanted a program that could merge these two patterns into a 3-d model and then I can place the model into a “virtual” habitat. Then I can rotate it to get a “look” at it from all sides to confirm that is the look/placement I want. Can Blender do this? If so how would I go about doing it?

Blender is definitely what you want. Now the learning curve is pretty steep, and you’ll definitely want to watch a few beginner tutorials and be prepared to spend some real time working with it, but I think it would be the perfect complement to your craftsmanship. Definitely start simple, probably not even with an actual pattern, just working with the default cube for a bit. If you want to post images a very simple pattern from top and side, you’ll get plenty of help from people.

I have gathered the learning curve is pretty steep and will run through some tutorials before I get to the good stuff. My patterns for cutting blanks are pretty simple, just outlines of the animal with minimal details like eyes and fins or wings. Looking forward to giving this a try.

Yeah you can definitely do that with Blender. After a bit of practice you’ll be able to use the sculpt mode in Blender to get exactly the shape you want, and then rotate the object around to get different views of it. And even make a scene to go around it so you can see if the model goes well with certain objects.