BB-8 Droid from Star Wars: The Force Awakens

well, they did it! they’ve actually created a worthy successor to R2-D2. IMHO that is. the thing’s cute as hell! so naturally I had to model one. :wink:

3 Likes

this is my first time that I have made a high poly model without subsurf modifier - at all!! only high poly mesh. I’ve created details by modeling on top of an icosphere with shrinkwrap modifier. every part of the larger ball is separate element. I didn’t cut into one single ball object. cuts for paneling were created with either insetting a row of faces or with use of booleans. those cuts around cameras I did by connecting some circles around the camera opening with straight edges to get the shape, ALT-Fing it with the head mesh, beveling to get some width and the insetting. the topology is ugly when looking in edit mode, but when shaded smooth and with autosmooth enabled it produces very clean look with sharp edges in object mode. since this is hard surface model which won’t get deformed I didn’t clean up most of ugly polygons because the shading is nice and clean.

Attachments

Really nice! I love BB-8 and can’t wait for the movie!!! Nice model

nice model!! i love the textures

now, I do like to test how believable my modeling is by photoshoping a model onto a photo and publishing it on Facebook with some background “story” and then observing reactions. this time I said I bought and assembled a scale model of BB-8. the story is meh, but my friends know that I do 3d modelling so the droid had to look really good for this to work. nice way to push myself further…

result? BIG WHOOP! 2 likes and 3 comments. talking about anti climax… :stuck_out_tongue: either nobody cares about droid toys or they’re onto me. oh well… at least I think the photos look good. tell me what you think. only the droid and box are CG, the rest are photos of my living room…

and three more…