Bear Character Sculpt

Working on a bear character.
I appreciate your feedback thanks.

5 Likes

Looks really good so far, are you planning on doing retopology or are you going to up the resolution and leave it as a high-res sculpt?

Thanks! Yeah I probably should have mentioned my goals but I am planning to retpologize it an animate it.

Sounds good, I’m looking forward to seeing it! I could imagine him tucking into a big bowl of porridge

Retopology progress - this is my first time retopologizing a sculpt

Looks amazing! Can’t wait to see more!

Really? Thanks I appreciate the feedback. I am planning to put a nightgown on him and have him hold a candle. He’ll be a sleepy bear haha.

1 Like

Almost done with retopologizing the bear. It was a very repetitive and time consuming process. I just realized I could I have done it with less edge loops and put a subsurface modifier on it and it would have captured the forms I was trying to get.

Okay I finished retopologizing I am making him have a nightgown and holding a candle so I was kind of blocking out that idea and putting placeholder objects. I also started texture painting a bit.

I realized he looks pretty generic looking. Maybe it’s the textures? Any feedback would be appreciated.

1 Like

Character design is hard work. Don’t expect it to look perfect after a few days of work. It takes time! You’re doing great.

There’s a lot that’s up to personal style. Like do you want a fuzzy bear or a cartoony smooth bear? Do you want a cute low poly style or an interesting high poly style? Here are some recommendations in case you want some help:

1. Realistic fabric texture with some subtle scraggly fuzzy
  2. Emissive flame material
  3. Smooth shading on the candle
  4. For cartoony eyes, make them objects for clean boundaries & sharp shapes
  5. Use a texture when you texture paint
  6. Model details on the clothing like buttons, button holes, seams (seams can be textured or modeled)
  7. Teeth