Beginner alpha transparency problem, please help!

Hello all!
I’m a beginner, and While I can’t get my sky dome texture object to work, I can at least cheat with that one.

The problem here is I have previously been able to get Blender to make the alpha layer transparent between leaves on a tree branch object I made, but when I created a new, unrelated plane and tried to make it into a clump of grass using another TGA file with an alpha layer to make the background transparent using all the same UV, texturing processes, suddenly it didn’t work… and comparing my tree leaves plane to this grass clump plane I saw no difference between the options I had enabled or disabled.

here’s an image of the problem mesh plane:

as the UV editor shows, the alpha layer is there and Blender can use it. But in my GLSL/Textured view I just can’t get the grey background of the grassy plane to be transparent.

Please, any suggestions on which options I should check or un-check to solve this beginner problem would save me!

If I can’t solve this problem then Blender is broken for me and I’ll need to search the ends of the earth for a Blender teacher who I can… well, it’s really hard to find anyone who uses Blender in California, Texas or Michigan, so… yeah.
Please help me. I want to love Blender… I really do…

Can you clear up a point, you say you used the same UV. Did you mean you used the same UV from the other image?
There must be a UV map only for that image, you can’t reuse them for a different image.
Can you also make a simple blend file with only your problem in it, then I can look at it.

I’ve purchased two DVDs of Blender tutorials but neither of them covered the use of transparency alpha masks.