Beginner doing beginning things

Alright, I finished this quick little thing yesterday. I don’t know if this shows the full extent of my skills, but what it does show is that I really don’t know that much about Blender despite having messed around with it for years. I never took the time to learn, I just kind of did little things with it.

So, here it is. I should probably get a better shot of the guy, but there isn’t much to see:

Oh, I’m not very good with lighting, so it might look a little weird.

Attachments

You are right about it showing the limit of your Blender skills, but it also shows something else. You included some originality and creativity in your scene. No amount of technical talent can cover for a lack of creativity. Nice job:)

If you learn a bit more (there are alot of tutorials floating around the web) you can really do more. Where are you planning to go with this?

Thanks for the compliment.

This is just a little thing I came up with in order to show the bit of skill I have with Blender. I might build on it, but I don’t know if I want to go on to something else. I might use this thread to show my progress over the next few days or weeks.

here’s an idea:

it seems you know how to bevel… (or ‘extrude’ in blender). try going extrude-crazy. start with a box, and see if you can make a tentacle, or a tree branch, or something like that. If it looks bad, don’t worry, delete it and start it again. or just move it to another layer if you want to go back to it later. That kind of thing is a good exercise that gets you used to using basic tools like extrude, scale, etc, and you can actually make some pretty cool things with it.