Beginner's Arch-Viz

This is my first quasi-complete arch-viz project and is two solid weekends of work. This rendering is simply A.O. with the edge layer turned on.

Over the next week or two I intend on taking the model to Luxrender; after I’ve brought in the chandeliers, sconces and their associated photometric data. Stay tuned.

Attachments

this is phenomenal… are you sure your a beginner?:confused: coz this is a proffesional piece… i like really your render :slight_smile:

Whoa that was seriously smooth! I’m waiting in suspense for you next update:p . Did you use any blueprints or is it simply from your imagination?

Thank you for the kind words. I am a CAD operator in a very small architecture and engineering firm. I’m definitely a beginner when it comes to 3d; this is the first modeling project of mine that hasn’t been a dud or a false start.

The model was made from a set of construction documents I was involved with producing. Start-to-finish it was a two year project, so being incredibly familiar with the building and the CAD files really helped with the modeling.There are definitely transferable skills between CAD-usageand Blender modeling. The most important skill that carries over is staying organized in the face of increasing complexity.

It’s a really nice model.
For the missing quarter, did you model it ? Or did you use the new boolean operators?

I totally didn’t think of using the boolean modifiers, that may have been more efficient. All of the cut-away geometry is off on a hidden layer, I want the hidden geometry to cast shadows in the lit version of the model. So you’d see the light filtering through the windows that are cut-away, and what-not. Right now, I am trying to figure out if the Luxrender materials system has an equivalent to Blender’s “Only Cast” option.

It’s been a month, I know. :o