Beginner's basement scene - please, give me tips :)

Hello!
I’m new to 3D graphics/modelling/etc. in general (a couple months in). Recently I spent quite a few hours working on my basement scene.

I would love to hear your opinions on what the biggest advantages and disadvantages of the scene are. I’m open to any critique, I recognize that I lack many important skills.

I am not posting this in the “Focused Critiques” thread because its description said something about ‘serious projects’ and I’m not sure I’m a serious enough Blender user :slight_smile:

Cheers and have a nice day!

PS I also have a 4k render but it seems to be too big to be posted here :frowning:

Great work for a couple months! I think you’ve got a future in this. Here’s some advice to help you along:

The lighting is too even. There’s little variation in shadow intensity. In particular, what stood out to me immediately was that the beer bottles on the left don’t appear to cast a shadow at all. If you have any filler lights I recommend turning them down and letting the ceiling light cast stronger shadows.

This might be because of the even lighting, but your textures appear to need a little depth. It looks like you’re already applying bump maps to some of your textures (I recommend applying bump maps to all of them) but you don’t appear to be using specular maps.

Try opening your textures up in an image editor, desaturating them, and adjusting levels until they are very nearly pure black and white. Then, adjust your material nodes. I’ve provided an example here.

For the box on the right, I created a gloss shader, applied my really high contrast texture to its color input, and then mixed my shaders together with a fresnel input (highlighted in node editor, top pane). This creates a more dramatic difference between dark and light, and should greatly help you with your lighting. This particular setup is actually the core of most materials in Blender.