Beginners questions

Hi Guys,

This is my first post to these forums.

I want to design a game character for a game that I am developing. I am new at 3d modeling and I have a few questions before I get too far.

• I want my character to have interchangeable attributes. Such that each character can have a different skin colour, clothes, equipment and hair. How do I achieve this? I assume that I must make each item individually and ‘stick’ them together before animating (I’m hoping and am sure that I don’t have to make a model for each combination of items! lol)
  • What is the best way to design a mesh so that it allows for ease of animation? I know about quads but maybe there are a few other hints. And also following on from before, do I need to create a skeleton to stick things to? if so, how?
  • How detailed should I make the mesh? I want to be able to render quite a few characters on the screen and the environment at once without killing modest computers. How many verts can a modest computer handle?

BTW so far I have half a bald head and neck. Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Neilos

Don’t have too much advice but try this:

http://blendernewbies.blogspot.com/

a5’

Thanks, the website will prove useful in helping the design process but my main question is left out in the wind slightly.

The question of clothes, is this a question I should be writing here or in a forum orientated towards the game engine? I’ll post it in a forum for the game engine but I’m sure someone here knows the answer…

How do you create characters with interchangeable clothes, hair, equipment, faces and changeable colours for each one?