Being a programmer and an character artist

So, I am wish since the beginning to become a good character/concept artist, I started learning blender with that goal in mind but in the learning process, I felt like blender could be improved for my goal so, I started learning to code, I took a year to get good at python and ended creating an addon which is really useful also Its on sale on blender market but the simple fact that i got obsessed at creating this addon stopped me from learning to sculpt characters for one whole year.

Now I have to maintain two commercial addons which are basically my main source of income, I won’t lie, I love coding in python but I would also like to have time to practice my sculpting skills.

I feel kinda split between these two goals.

Does anyone already passed though something like that?

i didn’t pass through something like that but i’m prepared to, i started learning Houdini some month ago and i did enjoy using a little bit of code ( in vex ) to control particles simulation & other stuff, so it pushed me to wanting to learn python so i can extend my knowledge of blender but unfortunately i got busy with school & freelance stuff.

From my POV learning to code will only push your artistic productivity, because you’ll be building your own tools that can accelerate your workflow.

We have good examples in the community, artist who code like Pablo ( chara artist ), the guy from boxcutter, @pitiwazou etc etc

I have passed though this, and I chose to do programming. And I am very sorry for taking that path. If I had done graphics, it would have been worth the time. But I didn’t, and my time was wasted. Programming is very simple on the modern gaming engines, such as Unity3d, or the famous Godot 3.0.