Best introductory audio book?

Hey, guys. For a long time I’ve been interested in the field of audio. In fact, I one day hope to pursue a degree in this field. For right now, however, I’m still learning the basics and working my way up. So I was wondering if any of you guys know a good book or a couple of good books that serve as a sufficient introduction to working with audio. Something concerning mixing and/or mastering would be nice as I am highly involved in music. I’m looking for something simple. Perhaps something that discusses sample rates, formats, mixing, mastering, things of that nature. Thanks in advance!

Hey, I don’t actually have a suggestion. But I’m gonna answer your post just because I don’t see that anyone else has.

I haven’t had any actual training in audio, just what I can figure out for myself. I’ve been working on, operating, and setting up sound systems since I was fourteen. And I hope to go to college for audio specifically, everything about it. I recommend hands-on-training, download audacity for starters, just open up audio files in it and mess around, you’ll learn a lot if you apply yourself. At some event at a high-school, church, theater, etc., go talk to the guys on the soundboard (before or right after), we get lonely because no one comes and talks to us except when a mic stops working (usually they mute it and forget that they did). But really, a book won’t teach you as much about something as actually doing it.

Good luck!

Oops, that made me sound like I’m against books, I’m not, I love books. All I’m saying is hands on experience is gonna help a lot.