Best way to intersect cyllnder with plane and re-topologize it?

Disclaimer: I am new to 3D modelling and have been following various video tutorials to learn. I am using Blender 2.83 to create assets for a game.

I am creating a model of a suitcase with a cylindrical handle. The cylinder of the handle must intersect with the planar face of a supporting structure which attaches the handle to the case (see image below).

For the modelling process I am trying to keep my entire geometry out of strips of quads. This is following advice I have seen repeated in tutorials. At a high level this makes sense - strips of quads are easily manipulated and seem to work well with the various modifiers and tools. Please feel free to correct me if this is a bad practice.

To achieve this intersection I tried two things:

1. First using the boolean union modifier. This created quite a mess.
  2. What worked better was:

I intersected the cylinder with a single quadrilateral face, and then did the knife intersection. Then I cleaned up the topology as best I could by using loop cuts, the knife tool, and manually adding some faces. This is the result of my first attempt:

I did get the quads I wanted, and they form “nice” loops with the cylinder (as best I can tell this is a good practice). I have some questions:

1. This whole process was a bit slow. Is there a better way to do these kinds of intersections and get a better topology automatically?
  2. Am I wasting my time by trying to create this cleaner topology?
  3. There are some visible creases that I think are resulting from my very squished quads + sub-surf modifier. Any thoughts on how I could improve this? (See link below)
  4. Less relevant, but I am still curious: Even though I have shade-smooth (and sub surf) turned on for the entire model, the cylinder still appears quite faceted. I’m not entirely sure why.