Best way to sell blender games?

I know this question has been asked a million times, but most of the times it seems like there’s more gray area than black and white. So I’m asking straight up, what exactly would be required to sell your games commercially?

I have a few projects that are nearing completion which I would like to see put in the Mac App Store. I can handle the technical side of getting it in there, but I’m no lawyer, so to avoid needing to get one I’d like to know what needs to be done to legally get it into the app store (or a similar source, i.e. steam).

Thanks for any help :slight_smile:

I don’t know anything about mac store rules, but here’s generally what you can and can’t do:

Blenderplayer is GPL, so you need to just reference blender.org or something to point people to the source.
You own all rights to .blend files. If you combine a file with the blenderplayer (exporting as runtime for example), everything combined with it falls under the GPL. Avoid use of the blender logo aswell (there’s more info on blender.org about what you can and can’t do with it).

There are several ways you can keep this things straight without letting people steal your files, I’ll let you figure that our yourself, but these are just guidelines to follow while doing it. BPPlayer does a pretty good job at filling that need, although I’ve never tested it.

Good luck.

Hmm. That clears it up a bit. I thought I remember hearing a while back that it was a requirement to also give people the ability to download the source code of your game? Maybe I’m mistaken though. After a lot of thought I actually don’t even think a blender game would be allowed to be put in the app store because of the build rules that need to be applied. I’ll take a look at GameKit though, if that project is still up. As building my game with Xcode would allow me to have control over the build process.

usually it’s enough just to point people to blender.org