Bezier Bastard

Does anyone know of a way to make a mesh/armature follow a bezier circle or path, then get rid of the bezier circle and still have that object follow that path? My exporter will not recognize bezier circles and instead of curving, my meshes come out flat and only move on a single axis.

I have basic knowledge of Blender. I can assign a mesh to a curve/path just fine. Ogre3D is my exporter.

select the object then the curve and click CNTRL+P and then it will follow it, to solve your problem do this; keyframe the first frame, then move up half, and keyframe again, finally go to the last frame and keyframe. Then delete the curve and you’re good to go.

CTRL+P then what? I can’t get it to follow the path with parenting. The way I’ve been doing things is to add a curve modifier to to the mesh to make it follow the bezier circle. That much works fine.

But no matter how many keyframes I put in, when the bezier circle is deleted, it will still only animate that mesh on a single axis. It does not retain the path at all.

Like I said, my sole goal that I need help with is to retain the path of a single mesh (be it a cube, or sphere, w/e) along a bezier circle, but then be able to do without (or delete) the bezier circle and still retain that path. The reason for this is that the Ogre exporter will not recognize curves.

When you keyframed, did you use VisualLoc, or Location? VisualLoc should key the object as seen, whereas Location will key it to a point on the (straight) line of the curve. Blender sees a curve as a sort of warped space, so it sees it mathematically as a straight line, even though it is visually curved. Visual keying may solve the problem. (At work, so cannot test this)

Matt

I just tried that. It was a good idea, and I hadn’t thought of it, but no, I have the same result. I appreciate the attempt to help me. Heheh keep em coming guys.