BGE - Is it worth it?

Greetings,

I am pretty new to blender and decided to learn how to use it becuase I wanted to move into the 3d world of video games. I had spent countless years using the “Game Maker” www.yoyogames.com software. That software was not intended to make 3d games (although it has some basic 3d functionality). After becoming quite proficiant with GM I decided it was time to move into the 3d world for once and search the web for my next move. I discovered blender and am really starting to love working with it. I have done a lot of tutorials on modeling and a few on the BGE basics. I have not started learning python yet but I think I intend to. I have been researching if teh BGE is going to be worth while to learn and use to create 3d Video games. This brings me to my question:

Why is it so hard to find any finished video games made with blender?

Yes there is “Yo Frankie!” of course but I really never find any finsihed game made with blender. There are a TON of WIP or people with that big idea, but I am pressed to find anything finished out there.

Is this a sign that I am barking up the wrong tree? Shoudl I be looking into something else to make 3d games? I have seen lots of comments of “Blender is good for prototyping games” (What ever that means) Is that kind of comment because blender just can’t produce games of today’s standard? (PS3 or the like) I have read that blender is good for making say equivilant games to XBOX or PS2. (Which at this time is fine by my standards)

Again, as I stated before, I am enthrawled with blender and all it can do. Being new to the whole 3d graphics world, maybe I am just start struck right now.

I assume I will be getting some bias feedback being this is blenderartists but I value what the knowledgeable community has to say about this.

Is the BGE worth my time? Or should I place blender as modeling software and look elsewhere for (low budget software) game creation software?