BGE: Turning Arduino Rotation Data In Animation; Blender Stops Responding

Hello,

I am quite new with both python and blender but have decent experience with other programming languages. I’ve been trying to turn the data from a gyroscope chip into a sort of realtime animation but I’ve kinda hit a brick wall.

Here is my python script below:

import sys
sys.path.append("C:\\Users\Student\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python35-32\Lib\site-packages")
import time
import serial
serialport = serial.Serial('COM5', 115200)
import bge
cont = bge.logic.getCurrentController()
own = cont.owner
x = serialport.readline()
strx = str(x,'utf-8')
angles = strx.split()
yaw = float(angles[0])
pitch = float(angles[1])
roll = float(angles[2])
print(yaw)
print(roll)
print(pitch)
own.localOrientation = [yaw,pitch,roll]    
serialport.close()   

I am using serial ports to send the data from the arduino and that’s all working perfectly fine. But if I try running this script repeatedly, blender stops responding.

A few things I have tried is running the part where it reads the data and transforms the object in a for loop, but the viewport doesn’t update until the script has completed running. Updating with the viewport with bpy.(whatever goes here).redraw_timer doesn’t fix that either.

As i’ve said, i’m quite new so I don’t know very much, but any help would be appreciated.

Thank you

orientation is a 3x3 matrix.

[xx, xy, xz]
[yx, yy, yz]
[zx, zy, zz]

mathutils has alot of functions to create matrices from angles and such.

I suspect this line to block in case the serial has nothing to read. You could try the following:

print('before read')
x = serialport.readline()
print('after read')

This would be to see when the code is being executed. You could put these print statements at other input/output points to check if it is blocking your script.

Because the BGE runs like this:
render > scripts > render > scripts > etc...