BI: How to tweak AO without aliasing appearing?

Hello everybody,

I’m fairly new to compositing in Blender but I think I know the basis. There’s a problem I’m unable to overcome at the moment.

Basically what I want to do is to to take the Ambient Occlusion render layer with Blender Internal, tweak it to make it essentially two-tone, then remixing it back for the final composition. This is needed in another work of mine to help achieving a different “toon” effect.

Here’s my current test setup. Please note that for more clean results I switched to the Gather rendering method. Ambient Occlusion is set to 1.0, Multiply in render options.

In the rendered backdrop essentially it’s happening what I intended to do, with just one difference: aliased eges appear on multiple spots on object edges wherever there is AO. The blacker or less tone detailed I make the AO layer, the more aliasing appears.

Surely, this is probably the fault of my current note setup. It’s very simple, but that’s what I’ve been able to figure out by myself to make it work.

So, the question is: is anybody able to figure out a better set up to tweak the AO layer only without introducing ugly aliasing artifacts in the image and preserving the original alpha channel information?

EDIT: added .blend file
aotest.zip (85.7 KB)

I’m not sure of the effect you’re looking for, but try turning on Full Sample antialiasing in the Render panels. You could also increase the samples in the AO Gather, but with your color ramp you’d probably lose the enhanced AO effect you show in your preview.

Perfect, this solved the problem I was having :slight_smile:
…although with the viewer node it’s still visible, but that’s not important.

Thanks!