big lag, caused by mouse over?

i made a block based building system but it seems to be too laggy, every cube has 12 mouse over sensors(2 per face), but the strange thing is that when im not hovering the mouse over the cubes, the game runs at 60 fps, but when i move the mouse over a cube, the fps goes down to less than 10, is there a way to solve this? maybe replacing the mouse over stuff with a python script?

Im kind of a noob here. But 12 mouseovers per cube seems a bit extreme, and you got a lot of cubes there, and really i dont know why you would have to have 2 mouseover sensors per face…if youll look at your 1st screenshot, your logic is 92%…Can you explain what your trying to do so what we can get a better handle on how to help.

yes, the main idea is that when you click on a face, you add a cube in that face you clicked, so there you have 1 mouseover per face to add a cube, and another mouse over(on inverse mode) to display the black reticule arround the cube or make the reticule invisible

Well, here is where you meet the limitations of logic bricks. They’re fine for smaller or simpler projects, but for more complex functions like this, you’ll need Python to get rid of the drain on your FPS. Are you familiar with it at all?

The problem is with the “Mouse Over” logic brick. It doesn’t work well with a large number of objects. Use “Mouse Over Any” and use a Python script to handle the event. In my experience, this will cause unbelievable improvements in speed.

(The other possibility is that “Mouse Over” doesn’t work well with high polygon objects… but I would hope you don’t have any high polygon objects in a block based building system.)

As blendenzo writes, the MouseOverSensor is not “optimized” it sends a ray with each MouseOverSensor at each frame. This is hard work for the Physics engine.

The MouseOverAny sensor is a solution as long as there are only a few of them.