big models

This is a big question and is probably something that most people don’t want to answer but I’ll ask it anyway. I am pretty new to blender so I don’t think I would be able to do this but I just wanted to know how exactly you would go about modeling someithing big like a house or castle with an inside as well as outside. I realize that the main thing is that it takes a long time. One thing I want to know is when you place objects such as a table in the building to you just make the table and the grab it and move it to the place where you want it in the house. I guess that sounds like a pretty stupid question but I don’t know. Does anyone know of a tutorial on makeing a building that I could look at. I have looked at all the tutorials on wikibooks but there arn’t any there. I’m really sorry about how stupid this question is. Thanks for whatever help you can give me. :expressionless:

Hmm…something like an entire building probably isn’t what you should be working on if you’re new to blender, as the size of the project is going to bite you. I know that advice doesn’t always work, though…my first 3d scene ever was a gargoyle made in lightwave 5 a looong time ago. :wink: But anyway, you’ll probably need to make good use of the layers system in blender, and most likely you’ll want to build your objects in separate scenes, then use a single master scene in which you “append” your objects. That’ll allow you to avoid the clutter and overhead of everything being in a single blend.

http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Building_a_Castle.256.0.html

That was the very first tutorial I ever completed (back at 2.23). It doesn’t deal much with objects inside though. Layers are the answer to this; you have all your floors on (lets say) layers 1 thru 5, the walls on 11 thru 15, the roofs on 6 thru 10 and the furnishings and contents on 16 thru 20. That way you can select combinations of layers to scale and position/allign the different elements.

%<