Bit of an odd dilemma here

I am a 2D/3D hybrid artist. My pipeline is usually pretty simple- I’ll model something in Zbrush, pop it on over to Blender, UV/texture, light, render, and send it off to Photoshop where I make it look all pretty. This is how I work probably 75% of the time and it’s a great method for single images but I wanted to try something a little different this time.

For my most recent project, I am illustrating a short story graphic novel-style. I got my scene all set up, UV mapped, textured, lit, looks pretty dern close to Photorealitic but that’s not really what I want for this project. I want a more graphic novel appropriate aesthetic, ya know, something that looks more hand drawn. So I figured I’d try out Freestyle. Been hearing a lot about it for a while now and the results look amazing. Also seems more expedient than what I usually do which is to painstakingly draw over every image to make it look hand drawn. So Freestyle seemed like a great option…

…except that it doesn’t work with Cycles and I set all my materials up in Cycles. (sad trombone sound effect)

I’ve never actually worked with Blender Internal before so I have no idea what I’m doing but I can learn. There are plenty of tutorials out there. That’s not the problem. The question is this: Is there any way for me to convert all those materials to BI-able materials while keeping the UV info and textures intact? I would transfer the scene over to Zbrush but the textures won’t go, the GoZ app is outdated and buggy, and besides, Zbrush, despite its outstandingly amazing awesomeness, still, for some inexplicable reason, does not have decent camera control options. I’ rather stay in Blender for this if possible.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

…except that it doesn’t work with Cycles and I set all my materials up in Cycles. (sad trombone sound effect)
How does it not work ? Does it not give the effect you want or nothing at all.
What settings are you using ?