Bizarre mouse scroll wheel problem.

I’m just getting into Blender and have been using it on my laptop for a few days now with the USB notebook mouse I normally use. No problems. I decide to install Blender on my desktop at home which has a Microsoft Wireless Laser 5000 mouse with the Intellipoint drivers for it. No matter which direction I scroll, it always zooms out. The only way to get it to zoom in with the mouse is to spin wheel super fast inwards, and even then it’s a fight against zooming out. The mouse works great is every other application I use it in, in Blender is the first time I’ve ever had a problem.

Any ideas? Thanks.

Only thing i can think of would be to pull down the controls window (Just below file etc) and check the settings in the View & Controls. If theres nothing wrong there then im stumped.

I experienced the same problem on one of the school macs, with the standard mac mouse. For me, it turned out to be a physical problem, though If it seems to work in other applications, I’m not sure what it could be.

I have this problem, as well with a Laser Mouse 6000. It seems to be a problem of the intellipoint drivers in combination with certain mice (Laser Mouse models…) and applications (Blender and Google Earth, for example)

Apparently both parties don’t seem to be interested in a fix, as both claim it’s the other ones fault… :wink:

For myself, I’ve used AutoHotkey (www.autohotkey.com) to create a little script that remaps the Wheel-actions. It’s not a perfect solution but it works. I can put up a link or instructions if anyone is interested (as soon as I’m back at my own computer, that is ;)).

Little Update: I just checked Microsoft’s site and they have new Intellipoint drivers available. Unless you are already using that version (6.2) we can still hope that it fixes the problem… :slight_smile: