Black areas on object, but right in front of sun

I just started learning Blender, and it is my first real experience with such a powerful graphics program. I have gone through the donut tutorial online.

My issue is that this capsule I am making has black areas despite being right in front of the sun. This is rendered with cycles. What might be wrong? It looks like I am not allowed to upload my Blender file.

At a casual glance, it looks like your object is too reflective, and that black spot is the sky being bounced back at you. Play around with your shader settings some.

1 Like

This is a common trick in photography to create dummy objects around the scene and behind the camera so light can be diffused better or to achieve better reflections. For the record if you look at a photography tutorial (not at all 3D - plain photography only) in youtube you will get a better idea how to make your scenes even better.

Ehm, no. Although it’s fine to know about photography tricks, you want to recreate them using tricks of the 3D trade. You really don’t want to light with bounced light when you can add the effect of a bounced light with actual lights - lights that a real photographer may not have or be able to control and position as desired.

If you’re not allowed to upload here, try pasteall.org.

OK in terms of mathematics they are be exactly the same but the only difference is to get more variety in shadows and reflections. Such as other times you need beam lights, other times donut lights, other time neon lights, etc… So in sense is that the photographer tries to “paint ontop of the surface” rather than “just make scene brighter”.

I had it on 100% metallic. Lowering that fixed the issue, but I am not happy that going 100% caused this issue. Perhaps adding an environment/background would prevent this?

A better environment map, and if you want your underlying color to show some more, a roughness map would help break things up a bit.