blend2max addon

Hello:) I am working on some kind of extended exporter.
In fact there are rather 2 scripts. One in Blender one in 3ds Max.
The main idea is to export mesh to OBJ file and some extra data to xml file.
In xml is data about objects(meshes,splines and cameras),coordinates and modifier.
All data can be easly imported in 3ds max, you must only select xml file.

https://vimeo.com/56973030

video quality is not good, i will work on it:)
In that moment there are only 4 modifier which is being exporting(subsurf,mirror,solidify,smooth)
Renders are too show that geometry is practically the same in both programs. I am not good at it.

I am not creating my own file format I use OBJ which is standard and I have got textures:)
If I am exporting OBJ in standard way, pivot is in point(0,0,0) when I use that script pivot point of object is always the same as blender pivot point.

Object location,rotation,scale in 3ds Max are the same as in Blender:)

If I am exporting data which for example subsurd it is automaticlly exported whithout mod and in 3ds max is added turbosmooth(for example blender subsurf render level2-> 3ds max turbosmooth render iteration 2).

Curve is also exporting. You can have as many curve in one object as You want. Curve can be also closed.

Cameras lens is also exported so render looks the same. You don’t need to think about fov or camera coordinates:)

How it looks like?

it sounds very interesting.
However, from my point of view it is useless to try to export modifiers. Those parameters are always changing in each version, you’ll have headache to maintain your exporter uptodate. The right way to do it is the alembic way, there is now a free plugins for 3dsmax, we just need an add on for blender. I read it was something planned, but I don’t know when and by who…

However, from my point of view it is useless to try to export modifiers. Those parameters are always changing in each version

Hello, thanks for reply.