blender 2.42 with 4 threads instead of 2

does anyone know if there is a 2.42 build with 4 thread capability or does anyone know of anybody that could edit the source and send me a build?

I’d be extremely psyched for this as well. Unfortunately I have nothing to offer except good karma and cash. Ooops out of cash! kidding. if this is would be a big project I would definitely donate to a good coder.

I’m not a developer, but I thought that part of the new render pipeline for 2.42 automatically used all available CPUs, so you shouldn’t need a special version for this. Just increase the XParts & YParts in the render options, and make sure the “threads” button is pushed.

http://bebop.cns.ualberta.ca/~cwant/multi-render.html

Looks like I’ll have to dive into the source. I have a SGI Origin 2000 I’d love to run blender on. Some day…16 300Mhz processors…yeah!

How do I open and edit a source file with a windows pre-compiled install? is it even possible? I am a total programming newbian

about x/y parts - does that render the image into separate files I have to stitch together and how many parts should I split it into for a quad CPU?

[quote=F/StopDigital]How do I open and edit a source file with a windows pre-compiled install? is it even possible? I am a total programming newbian

Not possible. If you want the source, you have to download it.
http://www.blender.org/cms/Source_Code.12.0.html

[quote]about x/y parts - does that render the image into separate files I have to stitch together and how many parts should I split it into for a quad CPU?
Basically, It breaks the image up into rectangles, like a checkerboard, and hands a tile to a CPU. When the CPU finishes rendering one tile, Blender hands it another one until they’re all done. If you have X/Y Parts turned up, you can see this tiles being filled in one at a time while you watch it render. It all comes together as one render, as normal.

From the release notes: