Blender 2.5 A0 64 crashed - will no longer open - ubuntu

Hi.
I hope someone can help me out.

I was using blender 2.5 64 bit today on my ubuntu machine. It crashed and I restarted the system.

Now Blender 2.5 64 will not open.

Any suggestions?

EDIT: I’ve downloaded a new 64 bit build from graphicall which works.
Downloading new versions from the foundation and replacing the existing version doesn’t work.

Thank you

Weird!

I’d have thought the .b25.blend would have become corrupt, but if other builds work then that can’t be…

Why not just use the new one that works?

I’ve got the same problem. I’ve installed Ubuntu 9.10. Oddly enough, all Blender 2.5 alpha builds don’t work in Ubuntu except official one.

BTW, I am new to Ubuntu.

Why software has privileges to corrupt and restart OS during error? Aren’t they supposed to run in sandbox? I have no idea what kind of malicious software it must be to cause any modern (since 2001) and properly installed Windows version to get BSOD on software error and making unable to close the tread using task manager. This kind of problems always makes me think that Ubuntu is way too far from being as stable as Windows. And taking into account that Xorg is not part of system kernel and tends to freeze GUI in moments of extremal CPU usage, it just depresses me and makes me feel like WTF guise it’s 2010s make your system stable. Srsly, I’m afraid to use Ubuntu for production work since I’ve got these problems happening just like twice a week.

Not for software that run in kernel space, like drivers, which is most likely the case here.

Martin

Where would I find the .b25.blend file?
I’m using the build that I downloaded but it seems to have problems. Ctrl-N, Ctrl-Q crashes it for example.

I too am pretty new to Ubuntu.

I had the same problem…

Deleting the startup file B25.blend or .B25.blend (can’t remember which) in the home directory solved it for me.