Blender 2.5 Background image problem

Hey guys
I am unable to put an image to my blender background.
I already used the N menue and choosed a jpeg as background image,but nothing appeared
I know,this sounds like a little problem,but it destroyed the past 5 hours of my life :[
And yes,i used google and I even asked in other boards for help but i didnt get an answer.
I look forward that somebody take time to answer my little and uninteresting question : /

oh,and i excuse for my crappy vocabulary&grammar.
~

Make sure you are in Orthographic view, not Perspective (toggle with numpad 5) and in the right view as set in the background image settings.

Thank you very much.
You saved my night!
I really appreciate that
<3

Mine too. Thanks.

I’m sorry but that doesn’t really help me. I have a laptop without a numberpad. Also, I am very new to Blender and so I don’t know my way around. If you could give a short description telling me where some menus are when you refer to them, that would be very helpful.
Thanks,
Darold

Go to File / User Preferences. Under the Input tab, select ‘Emulate Numpad’.
The number keys will then emulate the numpad

Awesome! Thanks Richard. One other thing… you said, “Make sure you are in Orthographic view, not Perspective (toggle with numpad 5) and in the right view as set in the background image settings.” I got the Ortho view, but where are the background image settings?

http://digitalaphasia.com/images/ithink.png

but in slide 5 , set the view-axis individually for each background image. (if you use multiple)
if you where doing from schematics, your Plan view would be Top…etc

(Scratching head!) Something must be wrong with my version (2.5). None of that is showing. I’ll just have to explore a bit. Perhaps I’ll stumble across it somewhere. Thanks anyway.

Have you presses N for the properties panel.
I can assure you your version of 2.5 has it as it has been there since early alpha versions.