Blender 2.57 and python 3.2

Hi all:

Some days ago I decided to learn some python and Blender was a great starting point. So I started working on python scripts for Blender. As I am a physician, most of the work involved numerical simulations.

Then I discovered that two very important tools for python are not working in python 3.2: numpy and psycho. This impressed me a lot because I understand that many operations in Blender need lots of fast numerical calculations.

Just for the shake of discussion, can someone comment on this?

Thanks!

www.enriquesahagun

You raise 2 huge questions with your post

1. Why python is slow

2. Why my python library does not work for my python

Lets start with 2) . In order for a python library to work with blender python it will have to be compiled with the same version of python used by blender in case of blender 2.57 , python 3.2 . Also the library which is in most cases a bunch of py scripts and/or DLLs that contain the C/C++ code should be installed in the blender python directory and not in other python installs of your system or else your blender python wont see the library and complain that it does not exist.

Now back to 1) as you say you need loads of fast numerical calculations. But fast itself is something relative, its impossible to measure the speed of python and provide an overall estimate as python speed varies from case to case. Also the biggest reason why code is slow, is because it has not written in a way that takes full advantage of the language. You have to keep in mind that in many casse python sacrifices speed for ease of use, this is one the policies of the language, does not mean however that python is incapable of high speeds. Its just a choice. So its prefferable to have some deep knowledge of the language and its standard library before utilising libraries that can make your code unecessarily complex. Actually even with no numpy and psycho , python will suprise you with its speed in some cases.