blender 2.5x core design, overview needed !

hi, i’m really interested about the blender core, i mean the C code related to the main functionalities before it’s built !

Also, i suppose that the 'core" need a minimum amount of python module to work, which ones ?

First, can you help me to find the main doc about the core ? can you help me to select the minimal list of files needed for build ? ( i get the source for 2.53 but there is so much files unecessary in there, … i think !)
do you know a way of getting only what in necessary ?

2d, i start to represent by graphic the interconnection between blender core files and ext libraries ? can you help me also ?

What is about the API ? i want to learn… is that the “link” between the core and module ?
is that mean the core must be first extended from API before modules or not ?

i’m sorry to ask such questions but i’m 100% into blender prog now and i need an overview of the full system…

notes: i’m not a blender coder, i’m using python for apps dev. but not with blender anyway, so i really need to understand…before entering into script/plugin dev.

Thanks anyway !
a+ :rolleyes:

wait… what? you want to understand everything about the source code of blender. before you actually start coding?

besides that I have a hard time knowing exactly what you mean, or want to get across.

Anyways, what I did was single out a specific task I wanted to achieve and focus on that only, dug into the docs, asked for help in #blendercoders channel on irc. And little by little you learn the structure of blender.

There are some flowcharts or, design patterns out there on blender.org under developer section I found helpfull.

No modules are writtin in python as far as I know either. it’s all C. but what you could do if you have prior python experience is use the API and write your plugins in Python can use the functionality exposed via the API for python.