Blender 2.62 freezing

Hello!

I am new to BlenderArtists and pretty new to Blender and 3D modeling.

When I first found Blender I had downloaded 2.61, and it worked great on my Toshiba Satellite laptop, which is just one of those $400 ones from Staples, pretty basic. its got Windows 7 Home 64 bit. Processor is: AMD Athlon™ II P320 Dual Core Processor 2.10 GHz with 4.00GBs of RAM (3.74 usable)

I modeled my tire from my wheelchair as my first project. I eventually plan to model the whole chair. Then I got busy with work and recently decided to get back into Blender after I found the Shapeways website.

A few days ago I started to model a basic ring band with some engraving in it. I modeled the band, then I performed a Difference Boolean for the outer inscription and it took like 3-4 minutes to do it, which was fine, I don’t mind waiting, then I tried to do it again for an inner inscription and Blender 2.61 kept freezing. I took a break and made some better font to use in the inner inscription, which took all day yesterday so I never even opened Blender. I finished my font today and decided I wanted to redo my ring band. I modeled a new band with no problems, then tried to do the outer inscription with the same readymade font as before and Blender froze. Then it seemed ANYTHING I tried to do made it freeze, like change the location of an object, clicking “File” to save, before I lost my new band I had just made…

I figured I should look for a newer version of Blender and I found 2.62, so I downloaded it and its doing the same but much worse, it takes forever to open any of my .blend files and gives a bunch of errors in the little black window when I try to move my ring band (“Face Loop Error”) and it will not perform a Difference Boolean.

I’m not very “techie” so if I need to be doing something, please give thorough, simple instructions :slight_smile:

Thanks

EDIT Update