Blender 2.8 Asset Library & Linking

2 Likes

Good night.
Using a Blend file as an asset library is clearly an advantage, but I have a little doubt. Do you know a way to save something to a blend file without opening it?
Like the inverse of “Append”, but "add that mesh, or collection or Particle system to the Blend file you use as the Asset library without opening it and import from the other file.
Thank you!

1 Like

I have not actually tried this, but I am sure the solution is: PYTHON.
Basiclly Python will open, import and save the new asset to the .blend linkfile. That’s the only thing I can think off. I hope this helped. I am not a python expert, otherwise i would’ve made you a script real quick.

Thank you Mouval!
That’s what I thought to, Python!
I see a lot of Asset managers, but none of them uses a Blend file to store the information.

Asset Wizard does it.

Storing it all in a .blend file is nice, but if your projects get bigger it might be nice to look at something else. Like a .xml format or alike to define certain things.

For large changes it might be better to change xml files and reload, then to go through the entire .blend file sets.
But I’m not sure if Blender is up to this, like Maya or Houdini can with two fingers up the nose so to speak… :wink:
It’s something I miss in Blender, like a intermediate format to do things.
Material setups or material group nodes, various settings etc.

So it’s good that Blender has a community. Here is for example what kind of…

Ah! Nice one :slight_smile:

Will have a look at that, but functionality like this should be part of Blender imho.
And I still have that feeling that a lot of things like these are not part of the blender workflow mindset.

But this is a great addon,

thanks!