Blender 2.8 Collections has me confused

First, is that I am a beginner! I started using V2.79 just 9 months ago and started trying to make a ships hull (that eventually I want to ‘walkthrough’) but it all got complicated and I was making mistakes and gave up.

That is however not my usual way, so I am back again and now using Version 2.8 and I have opened my model and I am now trying to sort out the mess I made of it.

I have the basic hull shape plus 8 deck beams and a person inside (to remind me of scale) thus I think I have a total of 10 objects?
When I made the beams, I remember that I duplicated them (or maybe I made one and duplicated that).

My problem now is that I want to make each beam a separate object and then I want to make a new collection comprising the hull plus the 8 beams plus the person,but Blender 2.8 is showing that I have 20 collections and I am reluctant to start deleting objects as I prefer to understand what I have done wrong and make it right before continuing to blunder along with this model.

Hopefully this screenshot will illustrate what I am struggling to write up.
I have of course tried to find answers on the web but all seem to refer to Version 2.79 or earlier and I am getting very confused.
I would be most grateful if anyone can enlighten me or point me in the right direction.

With thanks :confused:

Without seeing the blend file, I’m assuming your 2.79 file had used every “layer” of the 20? That would account for 20 collections, each collection would be representative of either a layer in the 2.79 file or a group.

Either that, or you have all your objects active on every layer so it is duplicated 20 times.