Blender 2.8+. Current state of handling FBX files

Hello,
I work in the video game industry and I use FBX files on a daily basis on my projects. My entire studio does, and I’m sure most studios do as well.
Blender is a great tool, but it’s terrible at handling large FBX files, most of the time it takes minutes to load when it’s not crashing.
I won’t mention the fact that it only supports specific types of FBX files (between 2011 and 2013 if I recall correctly), everything else won’t work.
I would like to know if there are plans to improve usability of FBX format in the future, that’s one of the things that remains problematic to become an industry standard.

Even addons can’t solve the loading and crashing issues.

1 Like

Blender cannot use autodesks API for fbx. instead ideasman had to use a “reverse engineered” version of the spec. When autodesk changes version it breaks the blender implementation hence the limited format restriction.

Apps that use fbx api don’t have these issues but that’s sadly not doable with blender’s licence.

I also work in games and haven’t found issues with the import times on huge scenes or crashes though. The conversion is handled by a code module rather than python so it’s probably about as fast as it’s going to get.

I do find that I can set 3ds max to export to a blender compatible fbx version

I think that little bit more reverse engineering and maybe that animation scale thing and other issues can be fixed too so it is not needed to change unit scales anymore. Quite annoying and distracting that you have to mess with scales when you want keep world scale in real scales.

Someone with skills could fire up reverse engineering tools and fbx could improve more.

Animation is certainly an issue atm.
Importing camera animation is completely broken, and not on the to-do list for the foreseeable future.