Blender Animation | Rendering Physics

Hi all. I’m a filmmaker venturing into the world of CGI and I’ve been plugging away at Blender tutorials for a while now.

I recently completed BlenderGuru’s tutorial on creating an asteroid:

http://www.blenderguru.com/videos/how-to-make-a-realistic-asteroid

After creating the main asteroid and the particle system, I took it a step further and created a cinematic, animated scene.

I animated the large asteroid to move through space, and I animated the camera along with it. When I previewed (Alt-A), I noticed that asteroids were passing through each other. I activated physics for both the particle system and the primary asteroid, and lo and behold, asteroids were bouncing off of each other. Very cool.

So I rendered the scene - which took about 12 hours - only to find that none of the physics that existed while previewing the animation were rendered. Asteroids were floating through each other once again.

After doing some research, it would appear as though the only way you can actually render physics is through the game engine, which doesn’t support a particle system.

So - aside from rendering a still image frame by frame to “force” the previewed physics to stick, is there any way to render an animation with physics without using the game engine?

If not, what use do physics have within particle systems if they can’t be rendered as such?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Did you bake the physics?

Nope…my understanding was that baking was specifically for mapping textures to objects via UV unwrapping. Could you please walk me through the process?