Blender book

hi, I was thinking on getting a book on 3D modelling. I’m tempted to get “Introducing Character Animation with Blender”, but wanted to get some feedback on it, if it were possible.

I feel I already know my way around Blender well enough, hence “The Essential Blender” doesn’t seem like a good idea. My main problem is that I’m still a mediocre modeler at best, and I’m trying to get a book that helps me with that(I also like the idea of helping the foundation a little). So, simple question, what can I expect from “Introducing Character Animation”? Does it help with modeling as well as animating? Is it a good read?

I’m the author so I’m hardly an impartial source, but if you haven’t already, you might want to have a look at the customer reviews on Amazon.

The book does cover modeling, materials, rigging, etc, as well as animation. And it’s also available in real-world bookstores, so you can stop in at your local Barnes and Noble and thumb through it to get an actual idea of what it’s like before you buy.

haha, we don’t have barnes & nobles in the third world. It would’ve been a good idea though, if applyable :slight_smile:

And I read the amazon reviews, basically that’s why I’m asking here, because even though the positive outnumber the negative ones, one in particular gave me the impression that modeling isn’t covered very much “in depth”.

Could you give me like an idea of what I should expect? like “before and after”?

Absolutely top notch book.
In fact, I was just cursing Bugman_2000 yesterday because of how tired my head was after spending all day yesterday working through more of the book.

The only thing I don’t like is that his next book isn’t scheduled to be out until next summer. He needs to change that signature to “Coming soon, but not soon enough”. I’d like to see him write a bunch more books and write them faster. :slight_smile: