Blender Compared to Maya

I’ve been using Maya for the past 3 years in school and I’m currently working on the completion of my capstone animation. I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a small studio which would use both commercial and open source software with Blender playing a large role. I’ve been messing around with blender on and off but hardly could even claim to know the software. So is there anyone out there who would be able to list its strengths and weaknesses in a production pipeline compared to Maya or other comprehensive commercial package?

Well, you’re certainly not the first to have this question. You might want to take a look at some of the earlier threads:

http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=48881&highlight=Maya
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=76574&highlight=Maya
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=71624&highlight=Maya
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=50877&highlight=Maya
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=60271&highlight=Maya

There are more, of course, seems to be a perennial subject around here. Welcome to BlenderArtists :smiley:

Thanks for compiling that list for me, looks like I have a lot to be thinking about.

Here, though, if this makes any difference.

http://www.blender.org/development/current-projects/changes-since-243/

Thanks for the replies up tot his point. I guess the hardest thing for me really time commitment , if that makes any sense. I’ve spent the past three and a half
years pouring time into learning maya and its hard for me to decide to learn another package just when I’m really starting to have a good overall understanding of maya.