Blender crashes at startup

I have been testing the python script found here:
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=79490

Everything was going fine until I imported a large dxf file and tried to save it to the test blender file. At that point blender crashed and when I tried to open blender again I got the Windows dialog saying Windows was unable to open the program and would I like to send a debug report. After unsuccessfully trying to find the problem I decided to uninstall and re-install blender. Unfortunately this didn’t cure the problem either. I got the same dialog that says “Windows wasn’t able to open the program”. I would upload a screen shot but I’m sure most windows users have seen the dialog I’m talking about. I have been running Blender for 2 years on this computer with no problems at all. I do still have blender 2.41 on the same machine but it is in another directory. I don’t know if that might be a source of the problem but I’ve been running both side by side for quite some time now so I don’t really think it is.

I’m using:
Window xp pro
Pentium M 2.10GHz
Nvidia GeForce FX Go5650 Graphics Card 128MB

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

i see you un-installed, but are you sure .B.blend got wiped out? you might erase that.

SmokinJuan,

I did delete the b.blend from the 2.42a directories but I am wondering if the b.blend from my 2.41 installation might be getting read somehow. When I do start my 2.41 version the b.blend file seems to be in good order.
Thanks for the thought.

Edit:
I did some testing on the .b.blend file in my 2.41 version to see if perhaps it was the problem. I moved the current b.blend to a different location to have blender create a new one. I restarted blender 2.41 and blender opened with a default cube scene but I could not find the b.blend file anywhere. I did a search of the whole hard drive and found nothing but the b.blend I had moved.