Blender creators with unrelated professional careers, how do you find time to use Blender?

I’m a college student studying the social sciences, and I have been a Blender enthusiast since middle school. I’m still an avid supporter of the program and its mission, but I have seen all the time I used to have to learn and experiment with Blender swallowed by my other activities and professional aspirations. For example, I always feel the time I have to use Blender could be better spent on improving my R programming because it’s more in line with my current career path. However, I find that I have much more fun using Blender. As a student, I worry this reality will continue into my career.

For those who have negotiated this balance, what’s your advice?

Are there ways you remain involved within the community without using Blender yourself?

I can relate. It can be hard to find time for blender sometimes (most times for me recently). And it can be frustrating.
Although there is a difference between balancing responsibilities (“I want to blend, but changing diapers is more important right now”) and the passion to use blender (“I like blending, but I prefer to spend my time doing other stuff”). Also, using blender and supporting/following blender are different things.

While i probably don’t fit your exact problem specification (for one i’ve not yet completed my studies). I’ve probably, at times, put to much focus/energy on Blender when it should have been elsewhere. As such, if you intend for Blender to be a hobby, then it’s a hobby and nothing else. So as long as you are confident in your other tasks being completed to whatever standard you set for yourself, what you do with your free time is up to you.