Blender doc = frustration

Hi!

Being a bit more than loosely interested in 2D, 3D graphics and because I am a programmer and am aware that Open Source is always better than closed sources, Blender has attracted me from the first glimpse. I have tried 3DSMAX and Maya a bit but have found the opportunity to help build a great graphic tool more attractive than the sheer brute force of those apps.

That’s how, every couple of weeks(busy schedule), I find myself drawn into Blender. I play with this and that and see what comes of it.

Being a relatively young software and because it is getting more and more love from developpers worldwide, Blender is ever evolving. Each time I decide to play with Blender, a new version has been released, with new toys to play with.

That’s where frustration hits. Documentation. It makes me want to shoot my PC with a tank and then laugh like a madman. How is it that documentation evolves soooo sloooooowly? I have just been trying (wrestling with) armatures, IKAs, etc. and trying to apply sub-surfacing to a mesh. I found out through a forum that the latter has been moved to a drop-down list box and have had no luck in matching existing documentation about IKA to the behaviour it shows in 2.40.

Let me say this clearly: without proper documentation, an application is not an application. Where I to be a new user to Blender, drawn by the quite extensive coverage some graphics sites have made of v2.40 release, I would say: “Hell, how come that crappy app is getting so much attention? I can’t even work out how IKA works from the documentation! Come here my beloved 3DSMAX and your many, many commercial-grade plugins!”