Blender film production

Hi all!

I’ve been thinking on something lately I’d like to share with you.

I would like to start making short films with Blender and hand them to festivals. I’m a filmmaker; I’ve written and directed several (flesh’n bone) short films, but I think I’ve reached a point in which I want to move on to other types of expression. 3D is what I want, and I love Blender.

Short conventional films are OK, but it’s quite frustrating how (lack of) money stops filmmakers from developing their talents.

So, my idea: I’d like to set up a team of Blender artists in a project that involved 3D film production.

Distance shouldn’t be a problem: we can be spread all over the world. Just a little bit of coordination will be necessary.

Animators, modellers, texture creators, plugin programmers, etc. we could join and make a good coordinated team. The main aim: to learn from one another and have fun (that should be a golden rule).

The idea is to produce non-lucrative work, under Creative Commons licenses, and to make more and more challenging works over time.

What do you guys think about this? Would you join?

Regards.

Frankly, I think this forum gets this sort of request way too often and many of them turns out to be a flop. But your site seems professional enough that I believe this time it might work out.

I am sure there are some talented artists outthere who is willing to work for free on a community-made film. But maybe you should hammer out a story board so that we’ll know what kind of artist is required. (ie sci-fi action? or cartoonish comedy?)

Best of luck to you!

I’m aware this is not easy. I reckon this is difficult to set up a good team, and to coordinate the project accordingly, as there are many complexities in this kind of projects. I’ve tried to build other projects in other fields in the audiovisual world, and it’s difficult to find commitment.