Blender for 2D Drafting?

I’m a college professor in scenic design and have been teaching my students SketchUp and Vectorworks for years, but as our budgets are being cut Trimble and VW keep raising their prices. Seems like Blender is SO CLOSE to being able to take their place but what’s missing is a “Layout” style output for 2D drafting. I’m aware of the Maker Tales add-ons and MesureIt CAD Transforms etc. The issue isn’t getting precision in the viewport its getting it onto paper. Is there an add on available that allows for section cuts of a 3D model to easily be exported to a 2D drawings where scale dimension lines, call outs, title blocks etc can produce an actual plate of drafting? I’m so eager to cut the cords with my current tools. Thanks

2 Likes

There is a free addon called Export Paper Model which is bundled with vanilla Blender, but I have never used it. It might be worth checking.

1 Like

Yes, thanks. That’s a fun tool but its sort of like printing the UV layout. Its for making paper models from mesh. Its not quite what I need but that one like so many other tools are CLOSE to what we need that it makes me feel like there must be some tool or workflow out there.
Thanks

1 Like

This is something that I’m working on at the moment and I’m fairly close to an Alpha release. The functionality I have at the moment is basic - Multiple orthographic views, section cuts, drawings scaled to paper size (UK A sizes at the moment), dimensions and text blocks - but the pages can be exported to .svg so additional edits can be made in vector based software (Inkscape for instance). If you are interested in taking a look at the Alpha once it’s ready, to see if it would meet your requirements, let me know and I’ll send you a copy.

This is something I think Blender is desperately missing and it will be a real game changer for all of us that want to ditch the likes of Trimble.

4 Likes