Blender GE standalone

one of the main things that distresses me about blender is the fact that Windows users are able to create standalone versions of their games, that can only be played on Windows, and (to me knowledge) Macintosh users cannot.

Does anyone know if there are any plans to rectify this?

Blender creates standalones for the platform it is running on:

Win for Win
Linux for Linux
Mac for Mac

There is a plugin called BlendStarter but it is heavily outdated (Blender 2.42). I didn´t looked closely to the code yet (and[i think] im not very experienced in programming) but maybe that it´s time to bring it back to life (for 2.5X versions.)

EDIT: blendstarter web page: http://sites.google.com/site/wwwblender/blendstarter

So are you talking about not being able to create a Mac app on Mac Blender, or not being able to create a Windows app on Mac Blender?

both I guess. I wasn’t aware that you could create standalone games on a mac. I have never seen them.

Thats because, here at least, mac is the least popular of the three operating systems.

could you explain the process of creating a standalone BGE game on a mac?

probably same as linux:
play the game, in blender. doesn’t matter for how long.
after you stop the game, File>Save Game As Runtime…
put it wherever.

hmmm, I have a problem. I did that, but when i click “save runtime” it gives me an error message “unable to make runtime: unable to find runtime”

blender version 2.4.9

I get a similar error on windows, but there is an easy work around. not sure if this works for macs though.
You get that error but blender still creates the file. You just need to manually copy some .dll files from the directory that blender in installed in (on windows its: C:\Program Files\Blender Foundation\Blender) to the location that you saved the runtime in. If this does not work; I will see if I can experiment on my friend’s mac tomorrow. :evilgrin: