Blender Guru's Donut tutorial: Glass render got messed up

Hi, I’m a complete beginner to blender. I’ve been following Blender Guru’s donut tutorial and I haven’t had any major issues up until now. I got to Level 3, Part 5, where he shows you how to do UV unwrapping. When I finished the tutorial and got back to render mode, I noticed the glass on my cup looked pretty weird, as you can see on the attached image. I’ve been looking for a solution for a couple of hours up until now, and I found this thread: AWFUL Render Output Glass It seems like OP had a similar problem. The main advice that people gave was to check if there were double faces on the cup that were messing up the render. I did that, and it seemed like there weren’t any. Then again, it may be that I am such a noob that i couldn’t even do that right. I also leave a link of my blend. file, in case anybody needs it. Any help is appreciated
Glass:

Blend. file: https://pasteall.org/blend/0b4736e29b964bf89393589be826f5b2

It’s double faces. If you checked by moving a face, you wouldn’t have seen it because you have proportional editing on and it would have move both faces.

To fix it:

1. Select all faces
  2. Mesh > Merge > By Distance
  3. Mesh > Normals > Recalculate Outside
  4. Face > Shade Smooth
1 Like

Select the cup, go to Edit mode, select all, then Mesh > Merge > By Distance. Then do Mesh > Normals > Recalculate Outside. Back in Object mode you can go to Object > Shade Smooth for a better look. Do the same for the plate and should be okay, you had loads of doubles. Did you created some of the faces manually or something?
@init_pixel lol I just posted the same thing

1 Like

Oh my god thank you so much! That makes sense! There’s so many things happenning on screen that i didn’t even bother checking if proportional editing was on.