Blender in the professional world?

So, I go to an art school. I’m majoring in Media Arts & Animation. Might go into character modeling. Now, our school uses Maya, because it is (as of now) the industry standard. I can almost say I despise Maya with passion.

I asked my teacher if we could use alternate programs, and he said it could be done (he had 3DS in mind). That is, until I mentioned Blender. He said that it isn’t an industry standard, and it’d be better to stick with Maya.

As I understand, there are artists within professional companies that model in whatever program as long as they can import the model into the program used by the company, right? For instance, if a game company uses 3DS, an artist may model in Maya, and import into 3DS. That said, would any of you think it would be wise for one to work in Blender, and import into other programs? I know how to use Maya to model, but Blender is by far much superior in terms of workflow and efficiency.

I only talked with my instructor briefly about this, and I plan to try once more to convince him to let me model in Blender for my sanity. However, there may be pros and cons that I haven’t thought of, which is why I come to my fellow blender heads for advice.

So, advice?

EDIT: Please read Post 17 before responding!

Well, if you plan on convincing him, here are some professionals using it:
http://www.blender.org/community/professionals/
Thats an old list though.

I think blender was also used for the animatics in spiderman 2.

Alternatively, you could tell him about http://www.plumiferos.com/,
a feature move made using blender.
http://www.plumiferos.com/html/galeria/imagenes-es.php?Qwd=.&Qif=010_02.jpg&Qiv=none&Qis=M

Try doing a couple of google searches, you can probably find some
professionals using it there.

That being said, blender really isn’t an industry standard, rather
something that is, from time to time, used in the industry.

The bottom line is, it will be quite hard for you, to use