Blender is better

Hey!
How do I convince my boss that blender is better than maya?
I’m a 3D artist working for a company(not very large) and we use maya for our work
as powerful as maya is I still believe that blender is better
I’ve talked to my boss before about this and he asked me about the render times
comparing cycles to arnold
I’ve seen arnold for blender but it’s not completely ready
I would like to convince my boss to switch to blender
how do i get the same render time for cycles as arnold?

Hi, it is nearly impossible to get a simple answer of a complex question.
Render time depends on so many factors, for example:
How “heavy” is the scene
Do you need it physical correct
Do you work on Anime or Arch-Vis scenes
Animation or Still render
What hardware you render on
and so forth

There are may scenes Cycles is faster as Arnold.
Try to convert a scene to Blender, make sure you can publish the scene to other Blender user and if you cant get suitable results by yourself,
post it on Blenderartists and/or Blender Foundation to get help.

Cheers, mib

1 Like

First, Blender is not necessarily better. So don’t go that route. But depending on what you do at your work, Blender could easily do the job.

Second, Don’t try to convince him. Show him. You can’t use Blender and produce as good or better results he is not going to get it. You want to convince him, take the assets out of Maya, set them up in Blender and render them. Compare render times and quality. Problem solved.

Your angle needs to be, not that Blender is better, but that it is more than adequate to do the job. And that Maya, in fact, might just be overkill. And money that does not need to be spent.