Blender Model - Alcohol Lamp

Hi everyone

Please give me some quality feedback on my model so I can improvise on it. I am learning Blender since last year and working on this model for less than a month now. Criticisms are welcome.

Name: Alcohol Lamp
Blender Version: 2.59
Blend file attached

alcohol lamp11.blend (1010 KB)

Thanks
Pooja

Hi Pooja

Your model seems to have potential. But I think the lighting needs to be worked on. And perhaps you can put it in a laboratory background? Also, whats with the shadows?

i think u have to work more on the glass texture

Hey monban7,

Thank you for the comment :slight_smile: I’ll surely work more on the lighting and the bg…but since I’m new to blender, I’m not able to figure out why am I unable to get shadows of my model…please suggest on how to resolve this, if any one’s aware of that!!

Hey sneha_animator,

Please let me know the flaws by viewing the blend file, I’ve attached, and if possible lemme know in what respect I need to modify this…

The glass looks like it is one solid lump. It needs walls. If you want to add alcohol as well, you will need to ensure that the alcohol does not touch the glass, otherwise weird artefacts will probably ensue. The simplest way of achieving that is by using the inner wall of the glass bottle for the alcohol.

The image below demonstrates what I mean. On the left is the complete bottle. In the middle, the bottom half of the bottle looks solid, since it has only an outer wall, and the top looks like a bottle since it has both outer and inner walls. To the right is the bottom half of the inner wall, which was separated from the bottle’s mesh, and has a different texture to make it simulate a drink. So the lower half of the bottle, which contains the “drink”, does not have an inner wall.

hi pooja!

To add shadows in your raytracing rendering, you have to enable the Ray Shadow option in the Object Data panel of your lights.