Blender model either black or white, UV mapped fine but all black or all white

Hi
I’m new to blender but I started working with this new model recently handed to me, the only problem is I don’t know how they got their model working or if they even used blender at all

In texture view mode, the whole model is black. The only that thing shows is the material gloss. Except the shoes, for some reason the shoes show up just fine. There’s one single packed texture for all the objects in the model.

If I change everything to shadeless, the textures all show up. Except the skin. The skin is white. But the clothes all show up fine, UV mapped perfectly. But the skin is white, and the top left pixel of the texture map is beige.

Can I upload the model to show you guys? I can’t get this model to properly work in blender. Either everything is black except the shoes, or the skin is all white.

1 Like

Sure. What do you mean “handed to me”? Be careful not to share anything that shouldn’t be shared. In this case, you could replace the model with a sphere and assign the materials to different faces. If the problem persists, upload that instead.

1 Like

Are you telling me to check the materials themselves on a different shape?

1 Like

It’s still all black, unfortunately. I’m too new to upload an attachment here, but there’s a link to the same file on the internet. Free Mesh - Basic Girl Model - Download Free 3D model by jérémy paladini (@paladini) - Sketchfab

I mean if I turn everything shadeless, it shows up. But not when rendered. Everything is black when rendered, regardless of what I do. Everything is also black when texture view is on. When I turn off all the shading, everything appears in texture view except the skin is white. I’ve done everything I can to make the packed texture work but it just doesn’t seem to. I’ve changed the shading from multitextured to GSGL or whatever, too. I’ve googled everything.

1 Like