Blender Movie Maker: a tool for faster animation production!

(sorry about the cross posting)

Hi guys,

I’m a PhD student working on a research project that investigates how narrative English statements can be used to generate computer animation in pre-constructed virtual scenes.

Blender Movie Maker (BMM) is a collection of python scripts, a repository of free 3D models and a repository of free motion captured (BVH) files that I have written and collected during the course of my research. I believe they can be quite useful for the open source community and I would like to share it with all of you.

The collection of python scripts I’ve written use Blender to automate a set of common graphics operations including managing large collections of 3D models; performing rigid body transformation on mutli-component 3D objects; integrating motion captured animations with rigid body transformation; and IK based armature operations such as touching and pointing. I’ve written some python GUI code to provide an easy-to-use interface for performing all these operations and I believe they could help you speed up your animation process and save your time and effort.

I understand that Blender is already the most powerful open source CG platform on this planet, my work is not designed to replace Blender in anyway, it’s designed facilitate the users of Blender.

Blender Movie Maker can be accessed here. I’m looking forward to seeing your comments and feedback.

Thanks a lot.

-D

Hi ,
THis is great effort, YOu must have published this work in CG journal.
We know Elephants dream and some other projects which turn into a movie.
Movie in blender will be a creation of good users,It will be a work of months.
While animating a charecter i always like to write a script that will set the poses for my
charecter and then action scripting for generating a good set of actions or desired animation.
your package will sure add a speed Ipo to the movie making in Blender.I am going to try it…