Blender Package

Has anyone ever though about making a Blender package. I was think about BRMT and the US Army’s cad program BRL cad. These programs are really just packages of a few or more.

What if we got some people and made a package (either zip/tar or individual download at their sites) in which we could take a raytracer (povray, bmrt, etc…), a collection of plugins and python scripts, Blender, perhaps a couple other utilities, and some docs on how to use them all together. We could make sure they all work together before.

I think it would be a nice tool to use, so that you wouldn’t have to rig things together, then not have your scripts work because your docs was out of date… :smiley:

Let me know what you think!

I love the sound of it, I have no programming experience and have yet to use a plug-ing in blender!!! (I like to learn things at my own pace)

But I’d really love to see a raytracer added to blender, that would make my social life turn into zip zero nothing… :smiley:

yeah thats a great idea!

included should be:

blender
bmrt
lightflow
python plugins/scripts
tutorials
maybe virtualight for the win-users
python
a shader-editor?!

Even if for licensing reasons we can’t put it all in a conveinient downloads, we could at least set up a page of “Most recommended Blender additions” with the proper docs and links to the recomendations.

I just think not having a recommended package is part of the reason theres so many redundant questions and confusion. One answer only works on a certain percentage of peoples systems, and having more than one answer confuses a lot of people.

I agree, I share the need for a recommended tools section.
Especially for all newbies in blender, I really would be in debt to anyony compiling such information.

My deepest support, wish i could help… :slight_smile:

This is a great idea.

I think this is the best solution. I would also include Ter2blend and terragen.